The purpose of this website is to promote a life-based alternative to the current National Curriculum in England for children aged five to eleven years.

The Merged Action Curriculum (MAC)

The Merged Action Curriculum is a life-based curriculum created with the intention of ultimately replacing key stages 1 and 2 of the current National Curriculum in England.

MAC focuses on getting the content right

Like the National Curriculum, MAC is information-led. Unlike the National Curriculum, the MAC information opens up the curriculum to many new concepts, attitudes, values and skills for young children to learn and adopt in new and exciting ways.


MAC organises learning into three life areas

  1. The person as an individual in their own right looking after themselves
  2. The person as a member of diverse, historical communities interacting with others
  3. The person as a member of a living, material world living sustainably

MAC learning domains

Each life area is divided into three learning domains, making nine in total.

The MAC learning domains and the National Curriculum

The content of the National Curriculum is respected – all of it – but rearranged and supplemented with additional material to provide a life-based focus to learning.

Back to the top

© Credit the Merged Action Curriculum